KidsCare - Arizona's Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP)

Return to Categories


KidsCare Program Changes

The KidsCare Office is unable to approve any new applications. Enrollment in the KidsCare Program has been frozen since January 1, 2010 due to lack of funding for the program.

The KidsCare Office is processing renewals and changes for eligible children. Families with eligible KidsCare children must complete their renewal and make their premiums on time to avoid losing KidsCare coverage.


Who Can Receive Services

The applicant may qualify for this program if the applicant:

  • Is an Arizona resident
  • Is 18 years old or younger
  • Is an United States citizen [PDF] or a qualified immigrant
  • Has a Social Security number or applies for one
    • To apply for a Social Security number visit the U.S. Social Security Administration
    • Make a copy of the form submitted as confirmation of applying for a Social Security Number
  • Is under the income limit
  • Is not currently covered by other health insurance
  • Does not qualify for coverage through a state agency employee
  • Is not eligible to receive AHCCCS (Medicaid) coverage
  • Is a member of a household that is willing to pay a premium

Income Limits

If the child's income is too high for AHCCCS Health Insurance, the child may qualify for KidsCare at a low monthly premium. This chart shows how much money a person can receive each month before taxes (gross monthly income) and other deductions are subtracted.

KidsCare Income Limits
May Qualify for AHCCCS
(Medicaid, with no monthly premium)
May Qualify for KidsCare
Family Size Monthly Family Income Annual Family Income Monthly Family Income Annual Family Income
1 $973 $11,670 $1,945 $23,340
2 $1,311 $15,730 $2,622 $31,460
3 $1,650 $19,790 $3,299 $39,580
4 $1,988 $23,850 $3,975 $47,700
5 $2,326 $27,910 $4,652 $55,820
6 $2,665 $31,970 $5,329 $63,940

Income limits change every April 1.

Premiums

KidsCare will cost no more than $50 a month for one child or no more than $70 a month no matter how many children are in the household. Per federal law, Native Americans enrolled with a federally recognized tribe and certain Alaskan Natives do not have to pay a premium. To get KidsCare at no cost, you must give us proof of tribal enrollment.

KidsCare Premium Amounts
Household
Size
Monthly Income Less
Than or Equal
to 150% FPL
Monthly Income Greater
Than 150% But Less
Than or Equal to 175%
Monthly Income Greater
Than 175% But Less
Than or Equal to 200%
1 $0.00 - $1459.00 $1459.01 - $1702.00 $1702.01 - $1945.00
2 $0.00 - $1967.00 $1967.01 - $2294.00 $2294.01 - $2622.00
3 $0.00 - $2474.00 $2474.01 - $2887.00 $2887.01 - $3299.00
4 $0.00 - $2982.00 $2982.01 - $3479.00 $3479.01 - $3975.00
5 $0.00 - $3489.00 $3489.01 - $4071.00 $4071.01 - $4652.00
6 $0.00 - $3997.00 $3997.01 - $4663.00 $4663.01 - $5329.00
Each Additional Member Add $508.00 Add $592.00 Add $677.00
Monthly Premium Amount One Child $10.00, More Than One Child $15.00 One Child $40.00, More Than One Child $60.00 One Child $50.00, More Than One Child $70.00


Additional Information

Please use the Applicants Menu on the left for information about how to apply, covered services, available health plans, and additional resources. For other questions, please contact us.


Adobe Acrobat Reader is required to view PDF files. This is a free program available from the Adobe web site. Follow the download directions on the Adobe web site to get your copy of Adobe Acrobat Reader.