
 Original Implementation date:  November 1, 1998  

 

 Amendment Effective date:   February 1, 2004 (premiums >150% FPL)  

      July 1, 2004 (premiums 100%-150% FPL)  

May 1, 2009 (premiums >150% FPL)  

January 1, 2010 (enrollment cap) 

 October 10, 2013 (remove wait list) 

 July 26, 2016 (remove enrollment cap)  

August 6, 2016 (premium lock out period)  

October 1, 2017 (mental health parity)  

July 1, 2018 (Managed Care Regulations) 

January 27, 2020 (COVID-19 Disaster Response) 

June 30, 2022 (COVID-19 Disaster Response) 

 

In the event of a disaster, the State will notify CMS of its intent to provide temporary adjustments to; flexibilities around 
delays in processing applications and renewals, , the ability to waive the three month waiting period for applicants, the 
ability to waive existing premiums, and the ability to waive the premium lock-out period. In addition, the state is requesting 
to temporarily provide continuous eligibility to its CHIP population.   

 

1.4-TC        Tribal Consultation (Section 2107 (e)(1)(C)) Describe the consultation process that occurred specifically for 
the development and submission of this State Plan Amendment, when it occurred, and who was involved.  

 

The State of Arizona seeks advice on a regular, ongoing basis from all of the federally-recognized tribes, Indian Health 
Service (IHS) Area Offices, tribal health programs operated under P.L. 93- 638, and urban Indian health programs in 
Arizona regarding Medicaid and CHIP matters. These matters include but are not limited to State Plan Amendments, waiver 
proposals, waiver extensions, waiver amendments, waiver renewals, and proposals for demonstration projects. The 
AHCCCS Tribal Consultation Policy serves as a guidance document that includes the process by which reasonable notice 
and opportunity for consultation should occur and scenarios in which AHCCCS shall engage in the consultative process. 

 

 The frequency of consultation is dependent on the frequency in which policy changes are proposed. When a proposed 
policy change requires consultation, the State will to its best ability provide notice of the tribal consultation meeting date as 
well as a description of the proposed policy change to be discussed. Ideally, a consultation meeting, which provides an 
opportunity for discussion and verbal comments to be made regarding a proposed change, will occur either in-person or by 
conference call 45 days prior to the submission of the policy change to CMS. The State will also provide an opportunity for 
written comments. Ideally, during the 45-day period, tribes and I/T/U will be provided at least 30 days to submit written 
comments regarding the policy change for consideration. Verbal comments presented at the meeting as well as written 
comments will be included in an attachment to accompany the submission of a State Plan Amendment, waiver proposal, 
waiver renewal, or proposal for a demonstration project.  
 

To address the COVID-19 public health emergency, the State seeks a waiver under section 1135 of the Act to modify the 
tribal consultation process by shortening the number of days before submission of the SPA and/or conducting consultation 
after submission of the SPA. 
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Once the application is approved, the applicant is enrolled with their chosen provider and AHCCCS 
sends a notice confirming the choice and a member identification card to the member.  Following 
enrollment, the contractor provides a member handbook to the member, which contains important 
information about how to access health care for KidsCare eligible children. 
 
AHCCCS approves a newborn of a mother who is eligible for KidsCare on the date the child is born. 
The newborn’s KidsCare eligibility begins with the newborn’s date of birth. Once approved for 
KidsCare, AHCCCS enrolls the newborn with the mother’s health plan.  AHCCCS notifies the mother 
by mail of the newborn’s enrollment into KidsCare and is given an opportunity to change health plans 
at that time. 
 
A member is allowed to change contractors on an annual basis and when an individual moves into a 
new geographic area not served by the current contractor. A member can change PCPs at any time.  
The option to change contractors is based on the member’s anniversary date, which is the first day of 
the month that the member is enrolled into KidsCare.  Ten months following the anniversary date, the 
member will be sent an annual enrollment notice advising that a different contractor may be selected.  
A list of contractors, with toll-free numbers and the available services, is included.  The member, or 
parent of the child, has three weeks to change contractors.  If a change is requested, the effective date 
is a year from the anniversary date.  Enrollees must notify AHCCCS of a change in address or other 
circumstances that could affect continued eligibility or enrollment. 

 
American Indian children who elect to enroll with the American Indian Health Program are allowed 
to disenroll at any time upon request and choose a contractor for all KidsCare services. Similarly, 
American Indian children enrolled with a contractor or other providers are allowed to disenroll at 
any time upon request and enroll with the American Indian Health Program. 
 
At State discretion, requirements related to timely processing of applications may be temporarily 
waived for CHIP applicants who reside and/or work in a State or Federally declared disaster area 
for the duration of the declared emergency or at an earlier date as determined by the State.  
 
At State discretion, it may temporarily provide continuous eligibility to CHIP enrollees who reside 
and/or work in a State or Federally declared disaster area for the duration of the declared emergency.  
 
At State discretion, requirements related to timely processing of renewals and/or deadlines for 
families to respond to renewal requests may be temporarily waived for CHIP beneficiaries who 
reside and/or work in a State or Federally declared disaster area for the duration of the declared 
emergency or at an earlier date as determined by the State.  
 
At State discretion, the State may temporarily delay acting on certain changes in circumstances 
affecting CHIP eligibility for CHIP beneficiaries who reside and/or work in a State or Federally 
declared disaster area. The state will continue to act on changes in circumstance related to residency, 
death, voluntary termination of coverage, erroneous eligibility determinations, and becoming 
eligible for Medicaid. This may remain in effect throughout the duration of the declared emergency 
or at an earlier date as determined by the State. 

 
At State discretion, the requirement that a child is ineligible for CHIP for a period of three months 
from the date of the voluntary discontinuance of employer-sponsored group health insurance or 
individual insurance coverage may be temporarily waived for CHIP applicants who reside and/or 
work in a State or Federally declared disaster area for the duration of the declared emergency.  

 
4.3.1 Describe the state's policies governing enrollment caps and waiting lists (if any). (Section 
2106(b)(7)) (42CFR 457.305(b)) 
 

Arizona does not currently have an enrollment cap or wait list in place.  AHCCCS will submit 
a state plan amendment if the state decides to implement an enrollment cap or waiting list. 

 


