
Charges for Missed Appointments for AHCCCS Care Members and Adults Eligible 
for AHCCCS for Families with Children  

 
Beginning January 1, 2012, certain AHCCCS members may be charged a $3 fee by 
their provider (doctor, nurse practitioner, and physician assistant)  if they miss their 
appointment without cancelling it at least 24 hours before the appointment or are more 
than 20 minutes late to the appointment. The fee will NOT be charged to MEMBERS 
who live in MARICOPA and PIMA COUNTIES.  Providers can stop seeing members 
who miss their appointment without cancelling on time or who are more than 20 minutes 
late until the member pays the missed appointment fee. 
 
Providers are only allowed to charge: 
 

 Adults who are eligible for AHCCCS for Families with Children under Section 
1931 of the Social Security Act (also known as the 1931 Population) 

 AND 
 Persons who are eligible for AHCCCS Care 

 
WHO LIVE in Apache, Cochise, Coconino, Gila, Graham, Greenlee, La Paz, Mohave, 
Navajo, Pinal, Santa Cruz, Yavapai or Yuma counties.  
 
This means that AHCCCS Care members and Adults eligible for AHCCCS for Families 
with Children who live in a rural county can be charged a missed appointment fee by 
their provider and the provider can stop seeing the member until the member has paid 
the missed appointment fee. 
 
A provider must meet certain requirements, such as notifying members of their 
appointment at least 48 hours in advance, before charging members for missed 
appointments. For more information about charges for missed appointments click on the 
links below. 
 
http://www.azahcccs.gov/commercial/ProviderBilling/ProviderBilling.aspx 
 
http://www.azahcccs.gov/shared/news.aspx#ArizonaSection1115DemonstrationProjectWaiver 
 
 

http://www.azahcccs.gov/applicants/categories/families.aspx
http://www.azahcccs.gov/applicants/categories/families.aspx
http://www.azahcccs.gov/applicants/categories/adults.aspx
http://www.azahcccs.gov/commercial/ProviderBilling/ProviderBilling.aspx
http://www.azahcccs.gov/shared/news.aspx#ArizonaSection1115DemonstrationProjectWaiver

