KidsCare II Information Page
Beginning May 6, 2013, AHCCCS increased the income limit to 200% of the Federal Poverty Level (FPL).
For previous stories related to KidsCare II, please click on the link below:
KidsCare II History
KidsCare II is a new children’s coverage program available May 1, 2012 through December 31, 2013, for a limited number of eligible children. KidsCare II has the same benefits and premium requirements as KidsCare. For additional background information on the KidsCare II program, please click on the link below:
Who Can Receive KidsCare II Services?
A child may qualify for KidsCare II if the child:
- Is an Arizona resident
- Is 18 years old or younger
- Is an United States citizen or a qualified immigrant
- Has a Social Security number or applies for one
- To apply for a Social Security number visit the U.S. Social Security Administration
- Make a copy of the form submitted as confirmation of applying for a Social Security Number
- Is under the income limit
- Is not currently covered by other health insurance
- Does not qualify for coverage through a state agency employee
- Is not eligible to receive AHCCCS (Medicaid) coverage
- Is a member of a household that is willing to pay a premium
If the child's income is too high for AHCCCS Health Insurance, the child may qualify for KidsCare II at a low monthly premium if they are at or below 200% FPL. This chart shows how much money a person can receive each month before taxes (gross monthly income) and other deductions are subtracted.
|Income Limits at 200% of FPL*|
|Family Size||Monthly Family Income||Annual Family Income|
*Income limits change every April 1.
KidsCare II will cost no more than $50 a month for one child or no more than $70 a month no matter how many children are in the household. The application must indicate that the household is willing to pay the premium for coverage. If a child received KidsCare before and money is owed for past premiums, families will be notified with the amount due and ways to pay. Children will not be enrolled in KidsCare II until all past due premiums are paid in full. Per federal law, Native Americans enrolled with a federally recognized tribe and certain Alaskan Natives do not have to pay a premium. To get KidsCare II at no cost, you must give us proof of tribal enrollment.
|KidsCare Premium Amounts|
|Household Size||Monthly Income Less Than or Equal to 150% FPL||Monthly Income Greater Than 150% But Less Than or Equal to 175%||Monthly Income Greater Than 175% But Less Than or Equal to 200%|
|1||$0.00 - $1437.00||$1437.01 - $1676.00||$1,676.01 - $1,915.00|
|2||$0.00 - $1939.00||$1939.01 - $2262.00||$2,262.01 - $2,585.00|
|3||$0.00 - $2442.00||$2442.01 - $2849.00||$2,849.01 - $3,255.00|
|4||$0.00 - $2944.00||$2944.01 - $3435.00||$3,435.01 - $3,925.00|
|Each Additional Member||Add $503.00||Add $586.00||Add $670.00|
|Monthly Premium Amount||One Child $10.00, More Than One Child $15.00||One Child $40.00, More Than One Child $60.00||One Child $50.00/ More Than One Child $70.00|
How to Apply for KidsCare IIDecember 5, 2013
On November 27, 2013, Arizona received federal approval to continue coverage for children above 133% FPL who are enrolled in KidsCare II through January 31, 2014 in order to provide additional time to transition to the Federally Facilitated Marketplace. Households will receive a notice informing them about their continued coverage. However, enrollment for KidsCare will remain frozen in 2014. More information regarding this authority can be found on the link below:
For any questions refer to the links below:
AHCCCS hosted a public training session to provide information about the KidsCare II program. For details about the meeting, please click on the link below: